Linklater, who co-wrote “Sunrise” with Kim Krizan, debuted with the independent movie “Slacker.” Since then, he’s made deals with big studios, but he remains a conscientious objector, refusing to kowtow to Hollywood’s idea of dramatic tension. “Sunrise” is an audaciously talky movie, and it plays out in something approximating real time. We go to the movies to escape real time, of course. But that may be this movie’s true contribution: that it picks up the ordinary moment, dusts it off and hands it back to you.


title: “A Fine Romance” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-10” author: “Oscar Pearl”


I tested for a part in the movie “To Have and Have Not.” Some time later, I ran into Bogie coming out of Hawks’s bungalow. He said, “I’ve just seen your test. We’re going to have a lot of fun together.” I thought he was nice and very friendly. The first day of shooting, his wife, Mayo, was there. She wanted to see the new girl because she was reputedly sure that he was in bed with everyone he worked with, which couldn’t have been further from the truth. My first scene was the one in which I say, “Anybody got a match?” I was just shaking. Bogie could see how nervous I was. So he started to kind of fool around with me, make me laugh, telling silly jokes. And fortunately, I was born with a sense of humor, so I gave it right back to him. It was a game, and it was great fun. But nothing overtly sexual. I was an innocent, totally inexperienced, a virgin.

One day, three or four weeks after we’d been shooting, Bogie came to my dressing room to say goodnight. He stood behind me and lifted my head and bent over and kissed me. And I thought, Oooh! What’s that all about? I got kind of got flustered and just said goodnight. Then a few days later, he gave me an old used match cover and said put your phone number down. We started to meet coming home from the studio and sat in each other’s cars and just talked. He started calling me up at night, sometimes slightly in his cups. He asked me if I would meet him, and I did. The relationship gradually became romantic. He started calling me, “Baby,” because I was so young, and “Slim,” my movie character.

When I met Bogie, I thought he was a “dees, dem, dose” guy. But he was nothing like that. He was well educated, well read. Very sensitive, sweet and sentimental. He never thought he’d fall in love, or have someone fall in love with him, much less have any kind of life.

“One day I ran into Garbo as she was jogging on Rodeo Drive. ‘How would you like a martini?’ I asked her. ‘I would like that very much,’ she said, very gloomily. So she came over to my house, I poured her a gin martini, which she downed in one gulp. I asked her if there were any roles she would still like to play. This was after she had done her last film. ‘Oh yes,’ she said. ‘I would like to play a clown. But I would always wear the mask of the clown. I couldn’t take it off.’ I realized why this part appealed to her. She was afraid she’d look old without the clown makeup. And of course she never made another film.” –Billy Wilder, the director and writer


title: “A Fine Romance” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-21” author: “Kenneth Nolan”


I tested for a part in the movie “To Have and Have Not.” Some time later, I ran into Bogie coming out of Hawks’s bungalow. He said, “I’ve just seen your test. We’re going to have a lot of fun together.” I thought he was nice and very friendly. The first day of shooting, his wife, Mayo, was there. She wanted to see the new girl because she was reputedly sure that he was in bed with everyone he worked with, which couldn’t have been further from the truth. My first scene was the one in which I say, “Anybody got a match?” I was just shaking. Bogie could see how nervous I was. So he started to kind of fool around with me, make me laugh, telling silly jokes. And fortunately, I was born with a sense of humor, so I gave it right back to him. It was a game, and it was great fun. But nothing overtly sexual. I was an innocent, totally inexperienced, a virgin.

One day, three or four weeks after we’d been shooting, Bogie came to my dressing room to say goodnight. He stood behind me and lifted my head and bent over and kissed me. And I thought, Oooh! What’s that all about? I got kind of got flustered and just said goodnight. Then a few days later, he gave me an old used match cover and said put your phone number down. We started to meet coming home from the studio and sat in each other’s cars and just talked. He started calling me up at night, sometimes slightly in his cups. He asked me if I would meet him, and I did. The relationship gradually became romantic. He started calling me, “Baby,” because I was so young, and “Slim,” my movie character.

When I met Bogie, I thought he was a “dees, dem, dose” guy. But he was nothing like that. He was well educated, well read. Very sensitive, sweet and sentimental. He never thought he’d fall in love, or have someone fall in love with him, much less have any kind of life.

“One day I ran into Garbo as she was jogging on Rodeo Drive. ‘How would you like a martini?’ I asked her. ‘I would like that very much,’ she said, very gloomily. So she came over to my house, I poured her a gin martini, which she downed in one gulp. I asked her if there were any roles she would still like to play. This was after she had done her last film. ‘Oh yes,’ she said. ‘I would like to play a clown. But I would always wear the mask of the clown. I couldn’t take it off.’ I realized why this part appealed to her. She was afraid she’d look old without the clown makeup. And of course she never made another film.” –Billy Wilder, the director and writer