On ‘Battle Hems of the Republic’: “As a historian who specializes in the history and role of clothing, I must say you’ve convinced me: drab can be good, even if 18th-century American dress was more colorful than what we see on HBO’s ‘John Adams’.” Patricia Campbell Warner Belchertown, Mass.

Hillary and America’s Women I’m a 38-year-old female executive who is embarrassed to admit that I cannot remember the last time I voted (“What Women Want,” March 17). Recently, I’ve found myself eagerly anticipating primary results, feeling a surge of solidarity when watching Tina Fey on “SNL” and getting choked up while reading NEWSWEEK’S essays about Hillary Clinton, especially the one titled “Just Leave Your Mother Out of It.” Perhaps our historical voter lethargy was due more to the lack of a personal connection than disgust with the political status quo. Regardless of the outcome of this Democratic primary season, I hope this mini-revolution continues to inspire the entire nation to stay involved. Careen Yapp Woodland Hills, Calif.

What is with all the love letters to Hillary? I should be a part of her natural constituency, as I am white, 56, struggling to make more than $40,000 a year and a feminist. However, Anna Quindlen (“Still Stuck in Second”), whom I usually love (I shared her hopes for a shared ticket) is wrong. It is not an antiwoman backlash that has cost Hillary Clinton; it’s the sleazy nature of her campaign. It seems not a week goes by that I am not appalled by the tenor of her campaign: her spokesman essentially says, “We won’t bring up Sen. Barack Obama’s drug use but the Republicans will”; President Bill Clinton’s not-so-subtle racist remarks in South Carolina; Hillary’s comment that Obama might be qualified to be her vice president, and Geraldine Ferraro’s recent statements. I am now an alternate delegate to the Colorado state convention for Barack Obama, and should Hillary Clinton receive the nomination, I would not actively support her. Karen Johnson Aurora, Colo.

I dutifully read every word of the 14 essays in “What Women Want,” even though I am a white male Democrat. I found them disturbing. Both Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama are terrific and I intend to contribute, to work for and vote for whoever wins the nomination. My position is not the stance of the “Femocrats” supporting Clinton. They have forgotten that this is a primary and that the object is to win the election. It’s too bad that it took a male reporter (“Always Their Own Worst Enemies”) to point out the ominous survey results on Clinton’s “Who can be trusted to answer the phone at 3 a.m.?” ad. Answer: John McCain by two to one over either Democrat. Lew Baker Salt Lake City, Utah

Your articles on how women view the Democrats’ Hillary-Obama conundrum highlight the double standard permeating contemporary politics: African-Americans can vote for Obama as a manifestation of black pride, and women can vote for Clinton, and many think that’s “hear me roar” wonderful. But suppose white males voted for McCain simply because he is a white man. They would be labeled David Duke clones or worse. I think the world probably would be a better place if all heads of state were women. And I look forward to the day when we elect a woman president, though I hope not this November. However, I am against a double standard applying to one segment of the population but not to others. Andrew Fine Concord, Calif.

If there is one thing Democrats should learn from the past eight years it is this: good intentions are not enough to make a good president. Many in my generation are enthralled by Barack Obama’s idealism, but idealism is not synonymous with positive change. As a twentysomething woman, I support Hillary not because she is a woman, but because I want a president with proven competence. As a country we can afford no less. Leah Christensen Missoula, Mont.

I am a white woman who came of age in the 1950s and am immensely grateful to Gloria Steinem and people like her who helped give me the courage to live my life fully and to stand up for what I believe. Yes, I’d love to see a woman lead our country in my lifetime. But, like Jonathan Alter’s mother (“My Mother’s Painful Quandary”), I’m supporting Barack Obama. For me, feminism is about taking charge of one’s own life and making intelligent, responsible choices. Until the women’s movement transformed my life, I lived too much under the sway of what my culture told me women “should” do or be. I deeply resent anyone who now tries to tell me—or any other feminist—that because we are women we “should” support Hillary Clinton. Linda Plaut Golden, Colo.

I identified with Jonathan Alter’s mother in many ways, especially as a woman who has finally seen the day when a woman is running for president. I am 86 years old, a retired clergywoman, a mother and a grandmother who happens to be a feminist. After struggling with the issues, I voted for Obama in the Maine primary. I believe in hope and that the people will respond to his leadership when he is the president. There is something about the way to reach the goal of being elected that he practices that touches us. Is it because means and ends are the same? Fran Truitt Blue Hill, Maine