An Important Book that you admit you haven’t read: “The Magic Mountain” by Thomas Mann. I keep climbing up the mountain and then I stop. I’ve read the first 150 pages three times.

Which classic did you go back to and find disappointing? There are things that I loved in high school that I will not revisit for fear that they will not hold that place anymore.


title: “A Life In Books Nathan Englander” ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-21” author: “Mary Arment”


“Diary of a Madman and Other Stories” by Nikolai Gogol. It’s about owning his voice. If you just say it right, we will follow.

“The Plague” by Albert Camus. It’s finite in that it has a beginning and end. Then there’s infinity in it.

“The Manor and the Estate” by I. B. Singer. There’s something amazing about entering a universe that deeply and for that long.

“The Trial” by Franz Kafka. Fiction allows these extreme worlds. It’s beyond ludicrous. But from page one, everything is real.

“Voices From Chernobyl” By Svetlana Alexievich and Keith Gessen. Regular people telling their stories speak poetry.

An Important Book that you admit you haven’t read: “The Magic Mountain” by Thomas Mann. I keep climbing up the mountain and then I stop. I’ve read the first 150 pages three times.

Which classic did you go back to and find disappointing? There are things that I loved in high school that I will not revisit for fear that they will not hold that place anymore.