Aaron’s body was found at his Lancaster, California home on Saturday, November 5, and he was pronounced dead at the scene. The cause of death has not yet been disclosed.

His older brother, Nick, 42, of Backstreet Boys, has led the tributes to his younger brother in an emotional Instagram post.

Nick called Aaron his “baby brother” but also reflected on their at-times “complicated” relationship.

The elder brother also nodded Aaron’s own personal struggles, writing: “Addiction and mental illness are the real villains here.”

Alongside images of them in their younger years, Nick posted: “My heart is broken. Even though my brother and I have had a complicated relationship, my love for him has never ever faded.

“I have always held on to the hope that he would somehow, someday want to walk a healthy path and eventually find the help that he so desperately needed,” Nick wrote.

“Sometimes we want to blame someone or something for a loss, but the truth is that addiction and mental illness is the real villain here.

“I will miss my brother more than anyone will ever know. I love you Chizz. Now you can finally have the peace you could never find here on earth….I love you baby brother.”

‘Complicated’ Relationship

In 2019, Nick and his sister Angel took out a restraining order against their younger brother after Aaron allegedly threatened to kill Nick’s pregnant wife, Lauren.

As part of the order, Aaron was instructed to stay at least 100 feet away from Nick, his family, and his home in Las Vegas.

In a statement reported by the BBC, Nick said at the time: “After careful consideration, my sister Angel and I regret that we were required to seek a restraining order against our brother Aaron.

“In light of Aaron’s increasingly alarming behavior and his recent confessions that he harbors thoughts and intentions of killing my pregnant wife and unborn child, we were left with no choice but to take every measure possible to protect ourselves and our family.

“We love our brother and truly hope he gets the proper treatment he needs before any harm comes to himself or anyone else,” added Nick.

In a statement at the time, Aaron Carter said he was “astounded” by the move, adding: “I do not wish harm to anyone, especially my family,” according to the BBC.

Aaron took to Twitter to share his thoughts, writing in September 2019: “I’ll be just fine without them. They need to leave me alone. Michael Jackson told me this was gonna happen and he was right.”

According to Page Six, Aaron did not attend Nick and his wife Lauren’s wedding in 2014, but the trio went on to spend time together as a family and were often seen supporting each other on social media.

Aaron Carter’s Career

Aaron sold millions of albums and shot to fame after opening for his older brother’s band, Backstreet Boys. in the late 1990s. He released his self-titled debut album in 1997.

Audiences will most likely recognize Aaron Carter for his huge hits “I Want Candy,” “Aaron’s Party (Come Get It)” and “How I Beat Shaq,” released in the late ’90s and early ’00s. He also starred on the popular TV show Lizzie McGuire.

In his later years, Aaron Carter made the move to Broadway and pursued rap music. He also appeared on the US talent show Dancing With the Stars.

He also spent time in rehab and was in trouble with the law on drug charges and dangerous driving, filing for bankruptcy in November 2013.

When Aaron was arrested for a DUI in July 2017, Nick reached out to his brother on Twitter, writing: “To my brother: I love u no matter what & if u feel the need to reach for help, I am here and willing to help you get better. Family isn’t always easy, [but] we’re all here for you.”

In November 2021, Aaron and his then-fiancée Melanie Martin welcomed their first son, Prince. He also entered rehab in September 2022 in hope of regaining custody.

Backstreet Boys’ Tribute

On Sunday, November 6, Nick Carter and his band, Backstreet Boys, acknowledged Aaron’s passing, with bandmate Kevin Richardson, 51, telling the crowd at London’s The O2 that the band had “heavy hearts because we lost one of our family members yesterday,” the BBC reported.

Backstreet Boys then dedicated the song “Breathe” to Aaron to honor his life and passing.